What is the Community Council?

The Community Council is made up of no more than twelve elected members of the community who serve a term of office of three years. The volunteers are joined and supported by the three elected members of Scottish Borders Council who represent Leaderdale and Melrose Ward and advise on many issues. 

What area do you cover?

Here is a map of the Earlston Community Council area.

When do you meet?

Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of the month, except January and July, in the Church Hall at 7pm and all are welcome to attend.

Please get in touch if you’ve an issue you’d like to raise or if you’d like to become involved in the Community Council’s work.

Agendas and Draft Minutes are published here seven days before meetings. 

Who is in the Community Council?

The Community Councillors are:

  • Sheila Gibb Chair/Secretary
  • Joy Snape Vice Chair
  • Robert Turnbull Treasurer
  • Disney Barlow
  • Marc Fletcher
  • Norman Catto
  • Cora Younger

The SBC Councillors are:

David Parker
01835 826571

Jenny Linehan
01835 826839

John Paton
01835 826565

How do I contact the Community Council?

You can write, phone or email the Community Council on the details below:

Mrs Sheila Gibb, Leadervale Lodge, Earlston, TD4 6AJ

Tel: 01896 49663


You can also contact us on our social media below:

Facebook / Twitter

What power do Community Councils have?

Community Councils have no statutory powers or authority but acts as a link with SBC and others public organisations sharing the community’s views on matters raised by, impacting on and involving the community while sharing information received from organisations. It is consulted on some planning applications.
All Community Councils work to the SBC standards and are non-political.

Find out more about Community Councils in the Scottish Borders.